National Philanthropy Day

                November 17, 2020

           Zoom Virtual Presentation

Download 2020 Sponsorship Form


National Philanthropy Day is a special day set aside on the fifteenth of November. The purpose of this day is to recognize the great contributions of philanthropy—and those people active in the philanthropic community—to the enrichment of our world.

NPD was originally conceived of and organized by Douglas Freeman in the 1980s, and the first official events held in 1986 after President Reagan signed the official NPD proclamation. The day provides an opportunity to reflect on the meaning of giving and all that it has made possible. NPD celebrates the endless daily contributions individuals and organizations across the world make to countless causes and missions. 

Last year, more than 130 AFP chapters held NPD events and activities across North America. In addition, AFP launched #NPDLove and the website, a global social media outreach and awareness campaign to engage the global charitable sector, the philanthropic community, and the public in activities to demonstrate “love of humankind” and highlight how they (or their organization) are helping to change the world.

Celebrating Excellence in Philanthropy Ceremony

Begins at 11 a.m. until 12 noon 

Master of Ceremonies, Peter Hayashida, President, UC Riverside Foundation 

Peter Hayashida was appointed president of the UC Riverside Foundation and vice chancellor for advancement at the University of California, Riverside in 2009. He oversees development, alumni engagement, university communications, and advancement services, and leads UCR’s separately incorporated 501(c)(3) foundation with an endowment approaching $300 million.

Hayashida previously worked for 19 years at UCLA, mainly in advancement leadership. He earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in communication studies from UCLA and an M.B.A. from California State University, Northridge.

He is a past Council for Advancement and Support of Education trustee and is a faculty member for the organization’s Summer Institute in Educational Fundraising. He served for a decade on the board of directors of the Los Angeles LGBT Center, the world’s largest and most comprehensive provider of healthcare and human services to the LGBT community He speaks and writes on issues of leadership, diversity, talent management, succession planning, and fundraising.



National Philanthropy Day

 Platinum Award Sponsors






              Gold Sponsors